Brothers Grimsey to team up in Shanghai

The original article is posted on 9sports-msn since 16:41 AEST Sun Mar 6 2011

Queenslander Codie Grimsey won the national 5km open water swimming championship at Penrith on Sunday, upstaging last year's winner, his brother Trent.

New Zealander Kane Radford was the overall winner in 56min 30sec, Codie was second at 56:32 and older brother Trent third in 56:43.

The brothers earned a place on the Australian team for the world championships in Shanghai.

"Trent and I have always spoken about being on a national team together, but to actually have it happen today is a dream come true," said 20-year-old Codie.

"I was actually talking to him as we were going around the first buoy on the second lap and he told me where to position myself for the next lap and I guess it paid off. He's a great big brother to have."

Trent, the eldest of three Grimsey brothers in Sunday's field, won silver at the 2009 World Open Water in the 25km race and was able to put a positive spin on another second place finish.

"I hate getting beaten at anything, but if I had to choose someone to beat me it would definitely be Codie."

In the women's 5km event, 15-year-old Queenslander Bonnie MacDonald successfully defended her title with a winning time of 59:18 from 10km race runner up Danielle DeFrancesco (59:21), while Kiwi Cara Baker was third (1:00:49).

"I really tried to be out on my own this year and not be conventional and race in a pack, just like Mel (Gorman) did yesterday," said MacDonald, referring to Saturday's 10km race.

Open water head coach Greg Towel was happy with the make-up of the Australian team bound for the July Shanghai worlds where the top ten placegetters will earn direct entry to the London Olympics.

"I'm really happy with the blend of youth and experience that we have heading to Shanghai," said Towel.

"Having two Olympians who have been there and done that will be great for not only them, but the entire team."

Beijing Olympians Gorman and Ky Hurst won the 10km races on Saturday with the other selections going to DeFrancesco in the women's and Rhys Mainstone the men's.